What are the most suitable boards/sails/wetsuits...

Moderator: Moderators

RAW1979
had a lesson
had a lesson

Post by RAW1979 »

Hi All

So glad I found this site and the nomads club. I've just got back from mexico where I taught myself to windsurf, and I totally fell in love with it. I need to get amongst some people who know their stuff that I can learn from so please get in touch if you don't mind a total novice taging along with you on a wkd trip somewhere. I'll get the wife to make one of her awesome cakes as a way of saying thanks!

I live in Bristol, and am also a keen mountain biker so if anyone wants to attack some trails and then talk windsurfing i'm bang up for that.

Please get in touch, I have the bug and need to throw myself into it.

Regards,

Russ
rachael
wave jumper
wave jumper

Post by rachael »

Hey Russ,
Welcome to the site, it's always nice to hear from a new obsessive!
I'm nowhere near as good as most people in the club and have really benefited from picking people's brains about locations and so on so if I can pass anything on I'll be glad to. I'm not a mountain biker but there are a few on here.
What kind of level are you at in your windsurfing? Do you have your own kit and if so what, or would you be looking to hire kit to start with?

Rachael
RAW1979
had a lesson
had a lesson

hi

Post by RAW1979 »

Hi Rachael,

Thanks for getting in touch. In terms of skill level I literally self taught over the space of a fortnight holiday (probably 7 sessions). I understand the basics but just need to keep doing it and pick up tips from more experienced people.

I have no kit at all so would just hire, beg steal or borrow at the moment. Hesitant to spend any money until I know a bit more about the kit. How much would the whole kit cost if bought second hand?

Let me know if there's anyway I could tag along on any outings. Really keen to learn as much as I can.

Russ
rachael
wave jumper
wave jumper

Post by rachael »

Hey Russ,